schedules of india

Posted: July 22, 2010 in India
Schedules Articles Contents
First Schedule (Articles 1 and 4) States and Union Territories – This lists the states and territories on of India, lists any changes to their borders and the laws used to make that change.
Second Schedule (Articles 59, 65, 75, 97, 125, 148, 158, 164, 186 and 221) Emoluments for High-Level Officials – This lists the salaries of officials holding public office, judges, and Comptroller and Auditor-General of India.
Third Schedule (Articles 75, 99, 124, 148, 164, 188 and 219) Forms of Oaths – This lists the oaths of offices for elected officials and judges.
Fourth Schedule (Articles 4 and 80) This details the allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha (the upper house of Parliament) per State or Union Territory.
Fifth Schedule (Article 244) This provides for the administration and control of Scheduled Areas & Scheduled tribes
Sixth schedule (Articles 244 and 275) Provisions for the administration of tribal areas in Assam.
Seventh schedule (Article 246) The union (central government), state, and concurrent lists of responsibilities.
Eighth schedule (Articles 344 and 351) The official languages
Ninth schedule (Article 31-B) This covers land and tenure reforms; the accession of Sikkim with india
Tenth schedule (Articles 102 and 191) “Anti-defection” provisions for Members of Parliament and Members of the State Legislatures.
Eleventh schedule (Article 243-G) Panchayat Raj (rural development).
Twelfth schedule (Article 243-W) Municipalities (urban planning).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s